The Weekly Blog 04: The Tomstardis Awards

301It’s another week and another week of me trying to get through my backlog. I started the week with Outbreak from the Torchwood range which I liked quite a lot. My only issue with it is that the episodes (which there are three of them) are too long. I think it could have been a two hour special instead of three episodes that were about an hour each. That said I enjoyed the story and look forward to the next release.

During the week, there were more releases with the final two main range releases made available. My next story was Order of the Daleks which has one of the best covers Big Finish have produced in many years. It was also one of the best Dalek stories in recent years and the Sixth Doctor/Constance series got off to a good start. The middle release is one that I traditionally have liked the least or have at least thought that the story wasn’t as strong as the opening or last story. In this case, the story was an enjoyable middle story. The final story of the week was Quicksilver which saw the return of Flip Jackson who was last seen in 2014’s Scavenger. I haven’t quite finished it yet but I’m halfway through and have found it a fitting end to the impressive trilogy.

That’s it for the backlog. Now I move onto the main part of this blog entry which is the Tomstardis Awards. They launched on Tuesday and have had 270 votes so far. Each category has its own page so if you have listened to Jago and Litefoot but not Survivors then you don’t have to scroll down past several areas that you wouldn’t vote for. I might post an update in a couple of days.

Well as I write this, there is exactly one week until Doctor Who airs its only episode of 2016. I cant quite make my mind up about this episode. I think that it has the potential to be a fun episode but after last years ‘odd’ episode I think that all this episode will achieve is to annoy the anti-Moffatt group and go crazy on twitter. I am perfectly prepared to love this episode and it wont feature River Song so that’s a bonus.

I don’t know whether there will be a post next week with it being Christmas Day but maybe I might be in a jolly mood and will find the time to write something. Maybe not about the backlog but about the Doctor Who Special. I am still aiming to cross things off my backlog.

Leave a Reply

